Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Try this on a titchy breakfast!

Leave a comment

I’ve been having a think about stock for the railway. Some stock will reflect the locations – ale pallet wagons and covered wagons for the brewery, insulated wagons and milk tanker wagons for the chocolate factory, high speed trains for the Stollen.

However, the great thing about Sodor is it runs this remarkable double existence of heritage and modern railway stock. This is good news as it will allow me to run absolutely anything I want.

That coupled with the fact that the mainline will have balloon loops at either end to allow for continuous running when I want, gets Penlowry into the good books with a friend of mine. He gets so wound up about all those rose-tinted-bespectacled-Great-Western-branchline-scenes he wants to run a model railway show where the only models allowed have to be continuous running! (He is also the same friend that said that the best way to see Doncaster is at 90 on the through lines with the chime whistle wide open – he has a point!)

Anyway, back to wagons. Given this licence to do what I feel like, I intend to build up some mixed freight rakes using all those great wagons and vans that were fashionable in the 1970s and 80s that advertised products such as KitKats, Smiths crisps, and the like. Keeping an eye out on eBay can bring in the bargains and none of these wagons go for any great amount of money because they are all cheap plastic and, in a lot of cases, cheap printing, and the detail is considered poor in comparison with today’s models. A touch of weathering powder along with removal of the huge tension lock couplers for something slightly more discrete, and maybe a brake cylinder and bags will do wonders.

First in the rake, seen here before the authentication treatment, is old faithful, and my favourite since I was a child, the Weetabix van complete with Brains and Dunk – Neet Weet Beet!*

Weetabix

 

 

*If you were born during the time of John Major or Tony Blair as PM, or born in a country where they have some imitation product known as Weetbix, and therefore have no idea what I’m on about, check out this blog post that tells the whole story)

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

