Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Short arms and deep pockets…

Leave a comment

Princess coupled to a Hawksworth tender - loco trials?

So the saying goes about Yorkshiremen. I don’t think we are cheapskates. Far from it, but we do like to spend our pennies wisely. “If tha looks after the pennies, the pounds’ll look after themselves” as my old skool mate used to put it.

Whenever I sell anything on eBay (not very often mind you) I always take the time to do a little research into the price trends of the item I’m selling. It still amazes me that people don’t. On my Cathedral project I need a Hawksworth tender. There are two options really. The Dapol one and the Hornby one (there are three options but the kit option didn’t appeal to me). As my loco is tender drive and they are both loco drive tenders, whichever I got would need a little “adjustment” to fit a Ringfield underneath it, but I’m sure I can make it work. I’m not the first.

I have therefore been monitoring eBay for some time for this item. I could buy a new tender top from the various spares shops (Peter’s Spares is good – though to let you into a secret, it’s cheaper on their website than on their eBay shop for any item). A new spare tender top costs £15ish.

Peter's Spares comparison

Peter’s Spares comparison

Alternatively I can lurk in the eBay shadows waiting for my prey. So I did, with searches set up as “gwr tender” and “green tender” (as no-one is going to list the thing as “Hawksworth tender”). One lunchtime I was perusing and someone put on a new Hornby tender and a new Hornby tender top both buy it now. They were so cheap I bought both. I mean cheap. I had bid on another one earlier on and I lost that but who cares? I got a complete tender and a tender top for the same price as if I’d bought a new top from Peter’s Spares, once combined shipping had been taken into account. And a heck of a lot less than the one I lost out on bidding.

Sometimes eBay plays you a Monoloply "Error in your favour" card...

Sometimes eBay plays you a Monopoly “Error in your favour” card…

To be frank, if you put things on eBay and don’t check how much they’re worth first then you must either be daft or you are deliberately making a Yorkshireman’s day.

In this case, I am one happy Yorkshireman.

Oh and the spare tender? I don’t know yet. Perhaps one of the five Modified Halls that were never built…. My preference would be for Naff Hall.

Foremarke Hall at Winchcombe  (C) Ian Crowther

Foremarke Hall at Winchcombe
(C) Ian Crowther

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

