Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Never trust domeless engines…

Leave a comment

So says Gordon on meeting City of Truro, before going on to lose his own.

The only drawing for the GWR Cathedral is this one which isn’t even Hawksworth’s work.

Hawksworth Pacific

It shows a really odd arrangement. The dome is where the safety valves on a GWR loco normally go, and there is a top feed but no safety valves shown.

The more I read about Hawksworth, the more I realise he was a true Western man. With that in mind I cannot believe he would have put a dome on his Pacific on the grounds that he could use an elongated King boiler and still have the regulator at the top of the Belpaire box and put the safety valves where they normally go.

Nick Parsons also had the same thought when he built his Cathedral because he put the safety valves in the normal position above the centre driving wheels, and put the dome between the bonnet and the start of the Belpaire box. Roger Meadows also didn’t agree with the concept drawing and did his with no dome at all.

Given Hawksworth’s Great Western-ness, and my belief he would strive for the best Swindon solution, I have decided my Cathedral won’t have a dome (but will be fully lined like Nick Parsons’ version).

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

