Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Lost without t’missus

Leave a comment

Recently, the lack of time or facilities to do any railway modelling had been getting on my wick a bit. My wife has noticed. She normally does. It’s something to do with pacing about like a caged tiger looking like I’d like nothing more than to rip the disgusting built in cupboards out of the spare bedroom. I do, and shortly I will, but that’s another story.

One of the reasons, as I’ve mentioned before, is having moved into a new house and having lots to do. (For example I put 17 pictures up yesterday. All our internal walls are brick so the only sure fire way of making them stay put is drill a hole, and stick in a rawlplug followed by a screw.)

My future modelling facility is the shed out the back which has light and power. But it has no insulation, a concrete floor, and gaps in the walls. So not the best place to do anything right now.

My wife, as I mentioned noticed the clenched teeth. She suggested I could use the box room for railway modelling. She then found a desk on eBay (which I lost but won the chair that went with it), and then followed it up by finding a table on Freecycle from the Vicar who lives round the corner. So having potentially been the scene of bread and wine sacrifices it will now be the scene of various rtr sacrifices in the name of modelling the quirky.

So let’s say a massive hurrah for my wife. Saving me from having grey smoke coming out of the top of my head!

I’m so excited I’m not sure what project to start first….

2015/01/img_3969.jpg

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

