Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Calling up the heavies

Leave a comment

Penlowry took a big leap forward today. Well some of the rolling stock building work did. I’ve been feeling a need to do more myself and less buying. So I bought something.

Yes I know it doesn’t make sense. But it will.

Having been in discussion with my father, he knew of some friends of the family that were trying to dispose of what I was wanting to acquire so a deal was struck.

Now for most of my engineering life, the Myford has been the toy in the corner of every workshop for doing the baby stuff while we cranked out the real stuff on Colchesters and others. However, for the purpose of model engineering and railway modelling it really is a heavy.

I looked at getting an ML10 but that wasn’t going to happen soon and the early ones have the motor mounted separate from the lathe bed (presumably so you could buy it without a motor and nick the one from the washing machine when the rest of the family weren’t looking).

However the family friend had one better. So now I am the proud owner of a Super 7. Now just need to get it wired, bolted down, reassembled, and then take it for a, ummm, spin.

IMG_4083

P.S. Although the “heavies” in the title referred to the lathe, this morning I was on an old industrial estate built on a former RAF base, with the roads “Halifax Way” and “Stirling Road” which may be what made me think of it…

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

