Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Doosra

Leave a comment

  
I mentioned the other day in my post on flashing, that is try and dig out some pictures of what I meant. 

Instead I thought I’d build a Metcalfe kit and show you how I do it. 

The kit in question is the Pavilion – a Midi kit. I saw it when it came out and decided I must have it even though at present there are no plans for a cricket pitch on Penlowry, so it’s a bit of a wrong ‘un. 

The picture at the top shows you pretty much everything I use. A slightly blunt scalpel, bulldog clips and pegs, felt tip pens, cotton wool buds, a file, and copydex. Metcalfe suggest UHU but I’ve used copydex for card kits for years and it does the job. It also is incredibly easy to remove from everything model related apart from the jeans you’re wearing. For many years when I was growing up I had one of those life size card kits of an osprey hanging from my ceiling, and when it finally got binned it was still rock solid (when I was 28 and my parents were moving house- my bedroom had been left intact despite me moving out 10 years previously). 

The file is used to clean the corners of the windows which tend to get left with a “pip” from the scoring process. 

  
I use the felt tip pens to colour round the edges of the windows and the external corners of the building. Nothing I know (apart from some strange grasses in Australia) is the colour of cardboard apart from cardboard. I use orange and brown for wooden buildings and a graphite pencil to simulate mortar with brick and stone buildings. Next I’ll start the construction. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

