Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Googly

Leave a comment

Continuing the pavilion construction…

 
Construction is straightforward and it’s worth clamping everything as it sets to get rid of any gaps. Black straight lines don’t look real in any setting. 

Note in the view above I have used some scrap card to glue the infills to the door windows in place so my doors are bereft of windows. I generally do something like this on every kit somewhere to make sure mine isn’t “factory default”. 

The cotton wool buds are used to clear any glue out of the window frames or any other unwanted areas. It’s always worth doing that while the glue is wet, and remember to wipe the glue from the cotton bud before using it a second time. 

 
Often with Metcalfe kits, you need to run the glue on two edges on different components to stick them together. Only being blessed with two hands, here’s my top tip of using two bulldog clips to form handy legs to hold the first piece upright while I run the glue into the second piece. 

  
This picture demonstrates I need to get the felt tip pen out again and tidy up those corners. 

Next up I need to think what to do about that very obvious interior and also print out a scoreboard better than the one with the kit (they supply 4 clocks with different times, but only one scoreboard). 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

