Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Royal visitor

Leave a comment

My cousin (the youngest of the mob) is into his railways too. Actually he knows far more than anybody should know about railways. The chance of him doing anything but working on the railways when he leaves his schooling behind is pretty much nil. 

His latest acquisition came visiting this afternoon to my healing desk. 

He had had two incidents with it, firstly stripping the thread from the screw holding the tender drawbar to the tender. The Elder Statesman had taken the offending screw home because, being a model engineer, buying a new screw is out of the question when you can knock one up in half an hour. 

The loco came to me for repair of its draincock pipe work which had broken when the loco suffered an earth fault on the Ebor model railway group’s layout recently, and it’s cab steps which had also had an attachment problem. 

  
Superglue on the end of a pin solved both those issues while the loco snugly rested in my homemade cradle. 

Examining the model afterwards, the detail is superb. Things have certainly moved on a pace from when I was younger and compromise was the norm. An excellent model. 

  

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

