Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Tools of the trade

Leave a comment

I’ve finally managed to snatch an hour for modelling. This is what comes of being on paternity leave. Although the hour didn’t start until gone 10pm so it’s not as if I’ve got my feet up while on leave. 

Having procured the necessary I have completed the wedding scene for my pavilion. I decided on a wedding as the post wedding booze, food, and speeches when I tied the knot with T’missus was carried out in a cricket pavilion. 

As with much modelling, it is all about creating an illusion. On my earlier posts about the tractor for Mini-me, some of the stickers on it were white not yellow but by putting the white on a yellow background you can fool the eye into seeing what isn’t there. It may or not have fooled you, unless you were looking closely. 

From my point of view, if it looks ok, I’m happy. I’m not going to push for perfection. (I read a blog recently where someone debated for a while whether to cope with the fact his model was 0.5mm out. Really? Who was going to notice except him? Each to their own I suppose, but that isn’t me.)

The wedding scene is in the pavilion to stop it looking empty, although with the roof on it will be fairly dark so you probably won’t see much. 

  
That being the case, the people (with the exception of the happy couple) do not have the best paint jobs ever being bought ready painted from eBay and then touched up with felt tips by me (yes felt tips!), but I’m guessing once complete it won’t be noticeable. The happy couple by the way are Preiser HO scale using the best man as the groom (since I wasn’t in top hat and tails) and ditching the rather pontiff looking priest. 

  
While sticking the people down (gel superglue so it didn’t run, since you ask) I needed something under the floor to give me support as the floor is raised. Living in York as I do, there was some Yorkist confectionary around so a quick shortening of the fingers (not wasted) and there was my support tool ready to go. 

  
I had intended to nibble said confectionary item while waiting between batches of people (having a break…) but since that was not possible I just had to comfort myself with a bottle of Purple Moose Ysgawen instead. Cheers! 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

