Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Slating

Leave a comment

It’s what you do to the opposition supporters when their team gets lets than 61 in an innings. 

But I digress. I have put the roof on the pavilion. 

  
Here you can see my technique of using a bog standard graphite pencil to colour cardboard. 

  
This includes the ridge line, the edges of the cardboard and under the eaves. 

  
At the top of this photo you can see the edge coloured, and at the bottom, that which isn’t, and I’m sure you’ll agree it looks better coloured. 

  
In this photo you can see under the porch and can see the difference the bare cardboard makes compared to under the eaves which is. I forgot you’d see it all until I had it stuck on. Hopefully with the roof so low, no one will notice once it’s found its home on the layout. 

I quite like the saggy roof at the front as if thereof can’t hold the weight of the  dormer roof. Accidentally done but it’s staying. 

  
Next stop will be the flashing for the dormer roof, which you may remember (I know it was a long time ago) was what this sequence of posts was all about. After that it will be guttering and weathering. 

  

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

