Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Aspirational 

Leave a comment

I’m sure all modellers have a wish list. A one day when… On mine for a long time has been an APT-E (which is still on there as I can’t afford the Locomotion one, boo!) and also this class 91 which I photographed yesterday at York. 

I work in Leeds and so most days travelling between the two cities I keep my eye out for 91114 but up til now I’ve never managed to see it except once for a fleeting second when there wasn’t enough time to get my camera (phone) out. 

Yesterday was my lucky day. I’d only stopped at the station for a PNB while on the way elsewhere but got it I did. 

  
91114 is unique as it has been fitted with twin pantographs. Apparently the fitting of it with the rear cab in the way was a bit of a faff. Eversholt Rail who own the loco did the mod as a trial looking at ways to improve, what was at the time of fitting, the worst reliability on the network (about 8,000 miles per technical incident (MTIN), since been eclipsed by the 485/5s managing 5000!). 

The 91s are going through an intermediate overhaul at the moment (the ones that have had it are in full Virgin livery) and the whole host of mods have improved reliability dramatically. My understanding is that the twin pan project is on back burner as I don’t think Stagecoach / Virgin will pay for it as they believe the mods at intermediate will all but eliminate the poor reliability and if you fitted twin pans to 91s you’d then have to apply the same argument across the network. Or to turn the argument around, there aren’t many trains with twin pans, so it can’t really be a reliability issue. 

I do quite like the livery but I think it’d have to be a vinyl wrap job. Not worth thinking too much about anyway as it’s only aspirational. 

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

