Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Magnetism

Leave a comment

Sometimes I feel Heath-Robinson would be proud. 

  

To glue the office section of the goods shed to the main building, I used sash clamps, with the whole building upended. 

However this meant it was resting on the gable end of the roof which I didn’t like, so I hung the end over the edge of the desk. 

This meant that, although it was stable, one knock, and the whole lot would over balance and crash onto the floor. With a couple of small people in the house this was more than likely. 

To prevent it over balancing, I therefore used my largest bulldog clip which has a magnet on one wing of it, the clippy bit attached to the end of the clamp, and the magnety bit attached to my angle poise lamp, which is festooned with all my other magnetic gizmos. 

The angle poise lamp in turn has its clamps screwed up so it can’t move. Result! 

And the beverage, you ask. Sam Smith’s Organic Chocolate Stout.  A lovely drop. Worth a punt if you’ve never had it and aren’t afraid of the dark. 

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

