Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Spaghetti on the outside

Leave a comment

Well, happy new year and all that jazz. 

According to WordPress people from 46 different countries visited my blog last year, UK, Australia, and the USA topping the table. So many thanks and I hope you all continue to read my meanderings. 

I’ve now been back at work 2 days and although there is shortly to be a flurry of activity that should keep me busy for the next 3 months, right now people are still getting over the Christmas excesses and things are slow. 

So while I slip into complete boredom doing necessary but very dull project admin, I am keeping the brain active with an idea. Quite when the idea becomes reality I have no idea but we shall see.

Basically my obsession (I’d call it fascination but I’m sure others will call it obsession so we’ll go with that for the time being) with Hawksworth has made me think I’d like to have his interesting developments as models. 

  
I already have a County and one day I may get a Modified Hall (while procuring plates to turn my County into 1019 Merioneth, I also got ones for 7930 That’s Hall although I think I’d actually prefer Sod Hall or Naff Hall given the chance).  

  
Hawksworth 16xx

As regular listeners will know I am (and I hope it will happen this year) making the Hawksworth Pacific. I have no interest in making his 16xx which was a bog standard pannier tank, or his 94xx which was really just a bog standard pannier tank with a taper boiler (and anyway Bachmann are to release this soon). However, I do want to model his 15xx. Innovative, different, user friendly, I like this loco. One contributor on RMWeb said it was unusual for the GWR because it had “the spaghetti on the outside”! 

   
 94xx

Unfortunately, apart from a rocking horse poo like Nu-Cast kit (which even if I found I’m not sure I’d want), there has never been an available 15xx. 

However, over the last 2 days, to relieve the project admin boredom, I have come up with a cunning plan. More cunning than a fox with a degree in cunning from Oxford University. It involves using a couple of r-t-r locos to make a 15xx. That’s my kind of modelling. No kit instructions to follow, just a set of problems to solve in the best way I can. I think (he says hopefully) that it’ll be relatively straightforward. 

  
15xx: A masterpiece of user friendliness, how un-Great Western! 

At some point I might explain how I intend to do it, but as some famous bloke once said, publicity is the death of innovation, so for now, I’m not telling. Sorry. 

  

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

