Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Secret squirrel

Leave a comment

Painting. Not top of my fun things to do. However our bedroom has been piebald ever since we moved in to our house since the previous owners “painted to sell” or in other words, slapped paint on while not removing anything to do so so when you take the cupboards and shelving out you can see the old colour. (This issue is in ALL rooms- sigh) They also didn’t unscrew the sockets or light fittings from the wall while they painted which really gets my goat.

This painting means we’ve been camping in the spare room for a week which curtailed any modelling activity. Not that there is much to report. I am deliberately being like dad* in the build of my 15xx since publicity ruins invention so I’ll merely say design is nearly complete and build will commence once the painting ceases (I hope). 

 
Nothing will happen this week either as I am off looking at some really old trains on the British mainline. Sometimes the day job can be fun. 

In other news, my friend Rob of Bron Hebog fame has posted a picture of what I used to get up to in Wales when I wasn’t at the front end of the train. See here
*keeping mum. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

