Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

York show

Leave a comment

As is starting to become a tradition (2 years running so far), I tootled off to the York model railway show weekend just gone. 

One gripe I have about this show is signage. It would appalling but there isn’t any so it’s worse than that. There is the AA sign at the entrance to the racecourse road and then nothing until you turn right to get into the stand. The problem is the road isn’t straight and there are many possible doors that it is easy to get worried you’ve missed it. This year I brought a whole flock of people with me who were wandering around wondering where to go, standing in the rain in a gloomy road with no visible presence of anything railway saying, “is there a model railway exhibition round here?”  The signage (or total lack thereof) appears to have been done by someone who is incapable of standing in the shoes of he first time attendee and thinking “is this sufficient for them? It’s not rocket science peeps, please sort it out. 

Signage rant aside, it was a good show. This time I took Mini-Me 1 for the first couple of hours and then once we’d done the layouts (especially the Halleluiah Players in Fn3 where he wanted to watch it for “this many minutes daddy” while holding up both hands, fingers extended) I had him collected by t’missus so I could then go browsing at the stalls and chew the cud and drink tea on the EDM models stand. 

The only photos I got were from layouts Mini-Me 1 liked as I thought I’d print them out for his bedroom wall. 

   
    
   
I took the opportunity to: discover Phoenix Precision haven’t got round to 15xx number plates yet; buy myself my birthday present (never disappointed that way), some cycling lions for my 15xx, a couple of tools I needed, a Sprat and Winkle Mk3 starter pack (I’m thinking this will be my coupling of choice – the Patriarch used the Mk1 many years ago on his layout so I have used them previously), and a shunter’s truck so when the 15xx is done I can recreate the scene below. 

  

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

