Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Going round in circles

Leave a comment

Well it wasn’t what I had in mind for the first model railway in this house. It certainly isn’t the most believable or the most scenic or the most accurate and the loco does a terrifying speed. 

However the positives make the pleasure. 


The train set was procured last week from the Llanberis lake railway for an eye watering £3.50…

It the usual stunning quality of finest cheap plastic for such a price and Mini Me 1 broke the track within about 10 minutes prompting me to look at nailing it down. 

All the rest I had lying about the house. 

The board has the remnents of the paint choices we were looking at for various bedrooms. The tunnel mouths were in my spares box. The track was nailed down with a staple gun (I know but we’re not talking a scale model here) and the road is thin particleboard and black gaffa tape with a old blood test stick pot covered in silver gaffa tape as a pillar holding the road up. 

It took all of 20 minutes to knock up. Mini Me 1 spent all the time in the garage in a state of excitement. He’s now spending a lot of his time playing with it and spends the rest of the time talking about when he can play with it next. For me that is all that matters. 


Of course, being the railway of a little one, any incident is likely to be spectacular. 


Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

