Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

On the p!ss

Leave a comment

Yes it is Friday but the title isn’t a comment about what some people get up to on the evening (or all day here in York where the races are on today- oh there’ll be some sights tonight!)

Carrying on my weathering musings, this fence lines the roadside of the road linking the villages of Dringhouses and Acomb, now both suburbs of York, up a ramp to a bridge over the east coast mainline. The ramp runs next to a local sports club and the fence separates the road and pavement from the drop onto the sports field. 


The weathering itself is fairly “interesting” showing bare metal, what I presume is red oxide primer, and then the green top layer. It would certainly be a different project to produce a length of it for a model. 

However, what is harder to pull off in a model, I think, is the drunken angle of the fence. It’s not that clear in these photos because they were taken while I was on the top deck of t’bus but it’s probably most clear on the top photo at the far left hand side. 


If you modelled the fence as it is I think you’d be accused of doing a right half arsed job of standing it up straight while gluing it down, whereas if you push it over enough to look convincing that it wasn’t a mistake it would look downright ridiculous. 


What this photo does show is the cracking in the pavement next to each stanchion caused by the fence leaning over towards the embankment edge. I am tempted to try it on a section of my model one day to see if I can make it look convincing sincere there are very few places in the world where the scenery is as pristine as that found on a model railway. 

What is open to debate is whether the angle was caused by the locals leaning on the fence too heavily while watching the fireworks on Bonfire night or a passing car making a determined effort to field a four down at Cow Corner. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

