Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

A trip back in time

Leave a comment

I’ve just been going through my model railway cupboard. This was mainly because I knew I had a few things I’d bought which I knew I’d never get round to so I thought I’d whittle them out and eBay them. 

In doing so I unearthed my first forays into 009 modelling. This started either just before or just after I’d started volunteering on the Ffestiniog when I was in my first year at university. 

In this and probably another two posts I thought I’d share them. 

By keeping off the beers for a few nights I could scrape together the monies for an odd model. However being the thrifty Yorkshireman I am I also looked at scratchbuilding. 


So having bought and built a VoR carriage kit from Parkside Dundas (picture above)  I then took the measurements and built my own, including scribing the planking. I was smart enough to realise that laminating the sides was the way to go, though it’s not quite to the Boston Largs Works / Dduallt / Bron Hebog standards. 


Having made a right hash of the roof of the VoR carriage I didn’t get round to doing a roof for the scratchbuild but following in the footsteps of Rob of Bron Hebog et al I shall rectify both roofs with the appropriate materials, once I’ve drunk the contents. 


Although it’s not the finest model, I do intend to finish that carriage as it is the first scratchbuild I ever did so deserves a home. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

