Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Creating a scene

Leave a comment

Some time ago I picked up a couple of Hornby barrier vehicles. My aim was, and is, that one day I’ll put an Isle of Wight 1938 stock set in the current livery between them to haul around the layout as if it’s going to or from overhaul. 


Since that’ll require either scratch building which I don’t have time or skills for, or an EFE set which I don’t have the money for, I thought I’d put something else between them for the time being. 

Perusing the world wide web I decided an LUL battery loco would be a good compromise because I could build it out of a CDC card kit and some bits and bobs in the spares box for next to nothing. 


Now at this point you’ll point out that a battery loco has conventional couplings so doesn’t need barrier vehicles. That is quite true. However, when going on some journeys, extra vehicles are often put in a rake to improve the braking capability to enable the train to achieve the required sectional running times. So there is my excuse. And I’m sticking to it. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

