Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Out of the packet

Leave a comment

The battery locomotive kit has arrived. Or to be accurate, two kits. Given the medium (card) I had a feeling that, unlike Metcalfe kits, these might be a little more delicate. 

I was pleased to see I am right so it wasn’t a waste of money. The kit is designed to be a static model so it is more of a scratch-aid for what I intend to produce. 


It is nicely presented in a folder and comes with a full sheet of instructions. The instructions are for all their kits of battery locos so not all the numbers line up or instructions apply quite the same but are perfectly understandable despite that. 

What I intend to do is use the two kits to provide more definition and depth to the flat sides of the kit such as by putting the doors back into the body and maybe doing something about the ventilation louvres. 


I’ll get some “proper” buffers and couplings and also provide a plasticard bodyshell / frame for strength and then mount it on the bogies described earlier. 

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

