Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Unofficial Which? Guide to glue

Leave a comment

I don’t know if Which? do a glue guide but I wanted to find out the best glue for sticking the card of the battery loco kit onto the plasticard I’m using for stengthening. 


Internet searches suggested a tacky PVA or Copydex. I have reported elsewhere that I am partial to Copydex but I thought it only fair to do a test. 


What I did was stuck the broken bufferbeam and another piece of card with printed material on it onto a piece of plasticard with the different glues. The tacky was used on the bufferbeam and the Copydex on the black and white piece. 

I deliberately used a bit too much glue and smeared a bit around including onto the card itself as I wanted to see what the opportunities for recovery were like in the event of a mishap. 


When held up to the light it was a clear win for Copydex (not that the picture makes it too clear). However I’m going to wait until both glues have had 24 hour drying time before making a final decision. 

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

