Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Piggy bank

Leave a comment

I came to the conclusion recently that it is all too easy to decide that I “need” another tool that is essential* for the workshop. Then I’ll end up on eBay or a website of funky tools (ngtrains.com for example) wondering if I can press the buy-it-now button. 

To curb this exuberance particularly as we have more pressing needs such as a house to rebuild much of, a family in Australia to visit occasionally, holidays to have, presents for t’missus to buy, and two boys who are already doing their best to eat the house empty, I have invested (I know, buy something to save?!) in a piggy bank. 


As you can see, this one is designed specifically with my situation in mind. The rule I have set myself is that to buy the next item, the money has to be in the piggy bank. The money gets into the piggy bank from a reduction in me buying “specials” for myself so instead of saying “I’ll just have one more beer” I’ll put the money in the piggy bank instead. 

We’ll see how it pans out but given I already have my next funky tool in mind, it could be the impetus I need. 
*Whenever the Patriarch returns from a model engineering show or the quarterly auction night at his club, with a bag or pockets bulging, the Matriarch will declare that she already knows two things about the latest whatchamacallit, it was essential, and a bargain. 

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

