Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Musical tenders

Leave a comment

Continuing the tender story from my last post, I dismantled the tender on my Saint ready to install a Collett 3500 gal intermediate tender top. 

However, here is a snag. As I’ve said, Hornby have produced a Collett 3500 tender for their Grange. The spares shops don’t stock the tender top as a separate spare so I contacted Hornby spares service who replied with, “our stockists of spares are…”. Genius, not. 


I already had a spare Hornby Collett 4000 gal tender top from an Olton Hall (Hogwarts Castle) but the Hornby one includes the top frame and buffer beam. I may yet use that one but I wanted to reduce the cutting if possible. 

(As an aside, why was Stanier the only person, prior to Coventry Colliery, LT, and Hollywood to realise GW engines looked good in maroon…?!)

Lima’s King comes with a 4000 gal tender and the top is only the tank. I had one squirrelled away in the spares box having arrived as a “spares or repair, unable to run” from eBay. Turns out it was unable to run as it had a Hornby Zero 1 chip in it (which if anybody wants for the cost of the postage please drop me a comment). 


I did think of using the whole Lima tender but its mechanism is awful compared to the later Hornby tender drives and finding out that the intermediate tenders had Dean frames meant I could use the Hornby chassis. 


I therefore dismantled the Lima King with help from the smallest member of the family, and have trial fitted the 4000 gal tender top. I’ll now need to build a jig to insert in the tender top to keep it rigid while I skim 2.5mm off the bottom of it before then changing a few minor details. 


Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

