Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Cross head

Leave a comment

I have started work on the loco mods to the Saint. This involves changing the cylinders and adding various details to represent the Lentz valve gear. 


The first attempt at cylinder change did not go well. I meant to take the slidebars from the existing loco and marry them to a set of A3 cylinders to represent the different valve chest arrangement. (A3 cylinders L, original cylinders R) 

Unfortunately, despite a good start in modifying the back cylinder cover and drilling out the piston rod gland, securely fastening the slidebars to the cylinders involved them locating slightly too far forward so the crosshead then fell out the back of the slidebars. 



With the best laid plans in tatters I am awaiting the arrival of a set of Castle cylinders and slidebars which I hope will solve the issue. 

In case the existing crosshead doesn’t fit in the Castle slidebars I got the pack which comes with the connecting rod and crosshead. In some ways I shouldn’t be too cross as modern slidebars look a lot more realistic and with the right profile than the old 1980s Hornby efforts. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

