Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my 5-gauge 4mm scale model railway with a few off-topic insights thrown in for free

Castling the Court

Leave a comment

Not much to report currently especially as I’m in London tonight. I snatched half an hour last night and fitted the new Castle cylinders to the Saint on a trial fitment. Pure Swindon, it was nearly a perfect swap. 


The slidebars that came with the cylinders are really good but unfortunately the connecting rods are too short and the crossheads of the Saint won’t fit in the new slidebars so some head scratching is required to finish that little puzzle off. 

Author: Chris H

Now in my fourth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to volunteer on the Ffestiniog Railway. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

