Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

Chippy

Leave a comment

Yes, I know it’s Friday but not that kind. Chippy in this case is the Chipmunk.

The De Havilland Chipmunk makes me go all misty eyed because I was in the RAF Section of the Combined Cadet Force so I did some flying with No.9 Air Experience Flight at RAF Finningley with Chipmunks. Not only has the Chipmink been retired from RAF service with the exception of being used as the conversion trainer for the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight, but RAF Finningley is now Doncaster Airport.

Now if I had one in No.9 AEF livery it would look like this:

Chippy 9.jpg

© Robert Nichols http://www.aerialvisuals.ca/AirframeDossier.php?Serial=100666

 

But that’s not suitable for 1948. But… the Chippy first flew in Canada in 1947 and the prototype was sent to Britain for evaluation so that is suitable. It looked like this:

Chippy 1

Airfix do a kit of the T.10 version but it’ll still take some painting to get this livery. Here is the 11th ever Chippy as flying today (one of about 500 still flying of the thousand odd built in Canada, Britain, and Portugal).

Chippy 11

© “CHIPPY” http://www.pilotweb.aero/features/flight-tests/flight-test-dhc-1-chipmunk-1-4669362

 

It’ll look very pretty though if I can pull it off.

Author: Chris H

Now rapidly approaching my fifth decade, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a Reply

