Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

A day with MiniMes

Leave a comment

Well a Happy Fathers Day to all dads and father figures.

Apart from my MiniMes giving me this card (thanks lads) I spent some of the morning with them painting a BR tail lamp I’ve got for my office (every office needs one you know).

It was a proper eBay bargain (unlike some of the comedy ones labelled as such, but no where near, or my favourite “RARE” when there’s 20 odd on sale).

The lamp’s bottom had rotted out so its lost the air holes at the bottom but apart from that is in good shape with secondary bottom in, reflector still inside and the red lens complete (no I won’t be shining it out of the window, what would the neighbours think?!)

Given it’s total lack of value I thought it’d be a nice project for me and the MiniMes so having spent some time cleaning it up over the last week or so we cracked open the white paint.

Once I’d persuaded no.1 not to use so much paint and no.2 that the red lens didn’t need paint on it, it went ok. It will need sanding back and a top layer putting on, along with a clean up of the glasses and lens but I just loved the amount the boys wanted to help.

Roll on the next joint project.

Author: Chris H

Having now officially reached middle age, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling, assisting the GWR 1014 County of Glamorgan project, and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales and Beamish. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a comment