Penlowry

Chronicling the development of my Cambrian and Narrow Gauge 4mm scale model railway

29 months of dodging

Leave a comment

Well it was inevitable I suppose. After 29 months, and three vaccines, I finally caught the plague. After spending Tuesday wondering if I was dying and wondering even more how I was going to finish my work in the week available, I did a test that evening and got the dreaded two lines. Followed by t’missus the next morning, and the MiniMes 24 hours later. So a plague house we are.

Also being totally unable to concentrate to anywhere near the level possible to work, I then spent Tues night / Wed morning tefloning my work onto others.

Within about 48 hours I started to feel like a human being again but I have the exhaustion that everyone talks about. I have to plan trips upstairs from down or down from up as I need a break between transits.

One thing I have found helps is distracting myself. So I have smashed a few KenKens (think Killer Sudoko) and have also managed ten mins here and there sorting models. One of which has got to stage of going to paint shops – the Cambrian Jones Class 15 Goods No. 864. This is the one I have written about before that I think almost certainly retained its GWR livery until the end of life in the early 50s.

I also caught up with Facebook having taken a break from it for a couple of months – very therapeutic. On browsing on my return I saw a picture on the Cambrian Railways Central Wales Division page run by Andrew Dyke of an ex-TVR O4 0-6-2T at Moat Lane which research by me (another distraction) suggests may have been en route to Worcester. Being such a lover of the weird, wonderful, and out of place, I’m now wondering if I can justify such a visitor at Penlowry.

And finally, Browsers Bookshop in Porthmadog (worth a visit if you’re going to Port) contacted me knowing I had a model of their shop on my layout asking if I could send them some pics of it to use in an upcoming promo they’re doing. So happy to oblige I got the mountain railway stock out to provide a more interesting background and put Idris in his cave.

Author: Chris H

Having now officially reached middle age, I am a rolling stock engineer and have worked in many different locations including a 7 year spell in Sydney, Australia, where I arrived with a suitcase and left with a wife and a son. I am now based back in my home county of Yorkshire where I juggle full time work, being a Dad to two rascally mini-mes, and trying to fit in railway modelling, assisting the GWR 1014 County of Glamorgan project, and visits to the top left hand corner of Wales and Beamish. In addition to my heavily railway themed life, I am interested in rugby, cricket, reading crime novels, falconry, and medieval re-enactments.

Leave a comment